The Recap

My final two weeks in Bishop were an absolute blast. Since Christmas I have battled bitterly cold weather, snow, and minor injuries, but have also enjoyed wonderful company, breathtaking scenery, and many of my best climbing days in Bishop. Ever. I finally found my rhythm and was able to end the trip on a very positive note, managing to climb several fun and proud Bishop classics. Now, back home, I have a chance to sit in a warm house, drink piping-hot tea, and share some photos to recap the last stage of the trip. Enjoy!

IMG_1289

Puffing like a blowfish on ‘Moonraker’.
PHOTO: Micah Humphrey

IMG_1290

“Cut ’em loose and hold that swing!”
Micah sets up for the crux of ‘Moonraker’.

IMG_1299

Byron tackles ‘Saigon’.

IMG_1300

His strength is in his hair.

IMG_1304

Micah keeps it together on an impressive flash of ‘Saigon’!

IMG_1319

Getting ready to go to work in the Ice Caves.

IMG_1328

Micah on the last hard move of ‘Aquatic Hitchhiker’.

IMG_1330

How far is that in oil changes?

IMG_1338

Not a bad sendoff. Bye Bishop! See you again next year!

2012 was a big year for me. From graduation and beginning an exciting career (starting in less than a week! I will share more soon, for those who are in the dark),  to branching out and making huge growth as a sport climber, and traveling and exploring new climbing areas and communities, this year has brought major change to my life. If you had asked me a year ago, I never could have guessed where my winding path would take me.

Like many people, I spent some time reflecting as 2012 came to an end, and thought it would be fun to share a few items that represent my last year as a climber:

IMG_1306

The Sport Bag:

This was my first season of focused sport climbing, and over the past year this loyal buddy of mine accompanied me to the top of more 5.12’s than I ever thought I would do in my whole life! I can’t wait to continue that focus in 2013.

IMG_1352

Ronald ‘The Motorcabin’ Burgandy:

Ron saw more miles this past year than any year prior. He has been my loyal traveling companion, and I am very grateful for him. And he’s still killing it in the snow!

IMG_1347

The Send Hat:

This little guy, created by my grandmother for my mom years and years ago, has outshone me in more photographs than I care to count. Still, I suppose I owe him one for popping out on dark outfit days. You can’t necessarily get away with wearing the same brightly colored shirt ten days in a row, but the send hat…. that’s more acceptable.

IMG_1309

Campsite #9:

This post marked my very own piece of Gravel Pit property for the past six weeks, and represents the last stage of my 2012 adventures. In this campsite I endured frigid nights, and enjoyed blissful mornings, hot meals, and relaxing tea times. Not a bad place to call home for $2 a night!

That’s all for now. I wish you all a happy new year!

Parting Shot:

steven done with the south edit

Me bringing up the rear of a team flash-train on ‘Done With the South’.
PHOTO: Micah Humphrey

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

