Bish-stache Bash! – Bishop, CA

You see a lot of interesting things when you’re on the road. Every destination’s climate, culture, and demographic bombard the optic nerve with a flurry of visual information. I have been fortunate enough in my upbringing to travel much, and at the young-adult age of 23, thought that I had processed enough of these assemblages of visual stimuli to claim immunity to the surprise and wonder brought on by optical newness. Today, I realize my ignorance. The 20-member-strong Washington crew has arrived in Bishop, and exposed to my unsuspecting retina the most eclectic collection of mustaches in Buttermilk history. You can take my word for it, or you can take a stroll down the page and see for yourself!

IMG_0964

Man-stache

IMG_0965

Hip-stache

IMG_0967

Finger-stache

IMG_1020

Wisp-stache

IMG_1013

Flash-stache

IMG_1004

Happy-stache

IMG_0973

Brush-stache
(This brush may or may not be the property of Western Washington University…)

IMG_0972

Rock-stache

IMG_0989

Braid-stache

IMG_0994

Locks-stache

IMG_0986

Dog-stache

IMG_1007

Spoon-stache

IMG_1008

Sage-stache

IMG_1010

Cheese-stache

IMG_1014

Utensil-stache

IMG_1018

Scarf-stache

IMG_1021

Stab-stache

IMG_1019

Towel-stache

IMG_1023

Wood-stache

IMG_1022

Glove-stache

IMG_1003

Ron-stache

IMG_1036edit2

Toon-stache

Bishop is as good as ever. The crew has brought fresh energy, excitement, and laughter that warms my heart and soul. It’s a rowdy bunch, but I love them all for it.

The weather and climbing have been excellent, and I have very much enjoyed the opportunity to settle in and find some of the hidden gems of the area. To keep things fresh I have tried to balance my time working projects, exploring fun new problems, and repeating old favorites. A few new-to-me climbs that have stood out so far include: Hero Roof V0, Green Wall Essential V2, Green Wall Center V6, Flyboy Arete V5, Anti-hero V5, The Greatest Imperfection… V6, Therapy V8, Acid Wash Right V9, The Checkerboard V8, and Morning Dove White V7. I still have a long list that seems to be growing with every passing day. My main objective at this point is Acid Wash V10. So far I have invested three partial days of effort and am starting to see light at the end of the tunnel. I just hope I can pull it off before that flexing jug breaks!

Here are a few parting shots to balance out the stache-bash:

Bishop from the Druid Stones

Bishop from the Druid Stones

Will gets his first taste of Bishop bouldering.

Will finds his inner boulderer.

Greg celebrates victory after grappling with a pesky V4 at the Druids.

Greg celebrates victory after grappling with a pesky V4 at the Druids.

Kevin fires 'Acid Wash' V10

Kevin fires ‘Acid Wash’ V10

IMG_0957

Sunrise at The Pit.

IMG_0992

The proper way to brush those hard-to-reach features…

IMG_0961

Casey learns how to fold a burrito.

Nathan provides some accountability for the 21-year-old.

Nathan provides accountability for the 21-year-old.

IMG_0962

Greg!

Margot!

Margot!

Nathan!

Nathan!

South Park reference of the day:

IMG_1017

“I’m a saaaaad panda…”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

