And so it begins…

I feel very blessed. I am recently graduated, debt free, and have the privilege of spending the better part of the coming year on the road in full pursuit of climbing.

The primary question I am asked these days is, in one form or another, “So, what’s next?” I get the feeling that most of these inquirers are expecting a response that tells of the city I’m moving to for the career I’m beginning, or the graduate school I plan to attend. Nope. Not this guy. It surprises people to hear that what I am most excited about right now is the recent move into my Subaru. Those who have read Jack Karoack’s “On the Road” assume they understand my position and tell me, “I hope you find what you’re looking for…” But that’s not me either. My decision to travel and forgo the pursuit of the traditional American dream (job, wife, house, kids) does not stem from a need to ‘find myself’ or to find anything else for that matter. I HAVE found something; something I am so excited about that I am willing to live out of my car for a while to continue exploring it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And so it begins…

  1. casebate8 says:

    yeahhhhhhhhhh this is the shit! keep up the good work and know that you have one climber totaly fucking stoked.

    • Haha thanks! I’ll keep it up for you Casey. I’m bummed I wasn’t able to connect with you in Leavenworth. I will give you a call soon I want to hear about your trip and learn some fine Italian cooking tips. And make sure you keep some weekends open in late October!

Leave a Reply

